Anglican Church - St Barnabas Church
  • Middelburg

Go Back

Contact Rector: Robin Behrens


  • 65 VD Walt Street




  • English

Anglican Church - St Barnabas Church

The foundation stone was laid 18th March 1896, and seven months later on the 28th October 1896 the church was consecrated by Bishop Webb. The sanctuary, chancel and vestry were added in 1940. These handsome additions to the picturesque stone church were erected by Mr W C Turpin who had been associated with the church from it's earliest days, as a memorial to those who fell in the first world-war, among whom was his brother, Lt C Turpin. The plaque reads: "This chancel and vestry were erected by W Conyngham Turpin, Esq; to the Glory of God and in memory of his brother Lieut. C Turpin, and those who fell in the Great War 1914 - 1918" - information taken from Mr Hennie Coetzee book Middelburg Hede and Verlede.

© Middelburg Karoo - 2024 | Links | List / Manage Your Business | Anglican Church - St Barnabas Church

Website Design and Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) by ZAWebs Designs | Web Hosting by ZAWebs Hosting